Currency and Visas

Currency and Visa’s


South Africa’s currency is the Rand and 100 cents is equivalent to R1. The currency is divided into R200, R100, R50, R20 and R10 notes and R5, R2, R1, 50c, 20c, 10c and 5c coins.Daily currency exchange rates are published in all newspapers and at all the banks and currency exchange service providers.


All visitors to South Africa must be in possession of a passport and certain foreign nationals have to apply for a visa before they are admitted to the country. Visas can be obtained from South Africa diplomatic representatives overseas or from the Department of Home Affairs in Pretoria. There are a range of visas available to our guests, including a tourist visa, a temporary residnce permit and visas for working and studying in South Africa. Please be warned that visas are not available at any of the ports of entry and have to applied for at least four weeks prior to your depature.

Register Now

Would you like to start learning?